Untapped

I managed to publish a half done version of the new site last night, I shouldn’t think it will take much more to get that up and running – but for now I’m taking a break from that for a few days. I do have another idea for the site – but there will always be room for new versions so I’ll keep it at the back of my mind. If you wanna see the test run click here – I’ve put the WordPress logo in the middle because I like the way the two sites connect up and I kinda want this to be a main feature of the tessbmusic.co.uk site. Exciting stuff! 🙂 Apologies if there are any issues with it – I’m not a professional web designer, it’s just fun to me.

So today I experienced something that reminded me of something my wife often says. She quotes some school teacher (I think) who used to say “Some people are drains, but some people are radiators” or something to that effect. Which is just a slightly comical way of saying – some people will be a positive addition to your life, but others will sap you of that positivity and fill you with their negativity. And it’s one of those life lessons that you never really get until you experience it – but learning to keep those negative forces away from you and keeping the positive “radiators” close is something I try to live by. And today I felt inspired to write a song about that matter: 

I also came across a work in progress song I started over a year ago: 

It really doesn’t feel like it’s been that long! But I was just rummaging around on my mac, and this one dated back to last august. Crazy. This must be one of several unfinished songs I’ve not completed in the last year. I wonder how many more I’d find if I continued to dig. Perhaps I should make a list… I do that – I make lists of stuff like that on evernote – if you know me you’ll come to discover this lol. I find my mind gets easily overcome with ideas and bits of information to remember so I like having an organised place to keep them. Evernote is good for that because I don’t have to worry about remembering stuff I can just type in keywords. Fabulous. Anyway, this isn’t supposed to be an advert for evernote – although I would recommend it if you’re the same. My point is – I probably have so much untapped material I could make an entire new album out of it. And I don’t like that feeling that I’m wasting that, but on the other hand I’m not sure if it’s worth the effort to complete it. I have a similar feeling towards this song:  I’ve been at it for years, and I have all the hard stuff done – lyrics and such, but I’m not sure if it’s good enough to complete or not. I really like having my “tessdrafts” soundcloud for these things. It means my demos don’t go completely to waste, people can hear them and I can share them. I imagine I’ll talk about new ideas I have on here a lot. That’s mostly what I had in mind for this.

Anyway. This is getting quite rambly now. I sort of feel like I’m posting for the sake of posting. But if you’re reading this feel free to comment – especially if you have any thoughts on the songs I spoke about in this post.

– Tess

Leave a Reply

